Press Releases

Advocates Urge Texas Education Agency to Strengthen Rules On Truancy Prevention Measures and Sanctions

October 17, 2016
        FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: October 17th, 2016 Media Contacts:
Michael Harris, mharris@youthlaw.org, 510-277-5452
Deborah Fowler, dfowler@texasappleseed.net, 512-757-1458
Meredith Shytles Parekh, mparekh@disabilityrightstx.org, 512-407-2776 Attorneys from Disability Rights Texas, the National Center for Youth Law (NCYL) and Texas Appleseed, concerned that local school districts…

California Governor Makes it Clear: Child Sex Trafficking Victims are Not Criminals - Senate Bill 1322 is Critical Step in Children’s Recovery and Healing

September 27, 2016
September 26, 2016 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Sarah Jimenez, CWDA, sjimenez@cwda.org, (916) 443-1749 Lewis Cohen, National Center for Youth Law, lcohen@youthlaw.org, (510) 835-8098 ext. 3045
SACRAMENTO, CA – Child welfare agencies, children’s attorneys and community providers are praising Governor Jerry Brown today for signing Senate…

East County NAACP Sues Antioch Unified School District for Violating Agreement on Civil and Disability Rights - District’s Broken Promises Deny African American Students a Quality Education

July 6, 2016
      July 6, 2016 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Arlene Mayerson, Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, amayerson@dredf.org, 510-644-2555 x5241
Allison Elgart, Equal Justice Society, aelgart@equaljusticesociety.org, 415-288-8708
Michael Harris, National Center for Youth Law, mharris@youthlaw.org, 510-835-8098 x3006
Martinez, CA – The East County NAACP…

Governor Ducey Signs Legislation to take FosterEd Statewide

May 13, 2016
For Immediate Release Contact: Pete Hershberger
Director, FosterEd Arizona
phershberger@youthlaw.org
(520) 724-8397 May 13, 2016 Phoenix, AZ –Governor Doug Ducey signed HB 2665 yesterday, legislation that includes provisions to establish and fund a statewide expansion of FosterEd: Arizona’s Pima County demonstration program. This demonstration program…

Foster Youth Ask Court to Stop Harmful Practices at Fresno Area Group Home

May 10, 2016
          FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 10, 2016 Contacts:
Lewis Cohen, 510-835-8098 x3045
Rebecca Gudeman, 510-835-8098 x3037 Fresno, CA – Attorneys for Planned Parenthood Mar Monte, the California Planned Parenthood Education Fund and five current and former residents of group homes for…

Lawsuit Charges Group Home Operator with Harming Young Women

February 23, 2016
For Immediate Release
February 23, 2016 Contacts:
Lewis Cohen, 510-835-8098 x3045
Rebecca Gudeman, 510-835-8098 x3037 Fresno, CA – Promesa Behavioral Health (Promesa) is harming foster youth placed in its care according to a lawsuit filed on behalf of current and former residents of Promesa group…